2024 Dedicated Teacher Award

Heather Strader Named Recipient of 2024 Dedicated Teacher Award
Posted on 05/09/2024

Heather Strader named recipient of Dedicated Teacher Award

Heather Strader, Second Grade Teacher at Franklin Elementary, was presented with the 2024 “Dedicated Teacher Award” from the Pullman Public Schools Board of Directors during the Regular Board meeting held on May 8, 2024. Annually, the board honors either an individual certificated employee with the "Dedicated Teacher Award" or a committed teaching team with the "Dedicated Teaching Team Recognition Award. This recognition is in appreciation of a teacher or a team’s demonstrated dedication to students and to their school.

Heather Strader has served the Pullman School District for almost 15 years, and was recommended for this recognition by Franklin Elementary Principal, Stephanie Bray, who was inspired by Heather as a leader in instructional delivery, support, and innovation.

Principal Bray shared that “[Heather] has supported student intervention, guided educators in intervention and progress monitoring, and most recently collaborated with the team and staff to refine our process and model the RTI model based on Solution Tree. She advocates for each child, for families, and the support the school/community can provide. She creates and maintains strong, positive, and successful relationships with not only her colleagues and supervisors, but also her families and students. She creates an atmosphere of trust, caring, and understanding in her classroom. Heather continually keeps communication with families open, honest, and frequent. Heather not only provides instruction exceptionally, but Heather also demonstrates an innate ability to create and foster positive relationships with her students. Her students feel safe, respected, and improve their growth mindset in her classroom. Through her collaborative efforts, and positive relationships, Heather has created not only a classroom, but a classroom family and community.”

From all of us here at Pullman School District, we extend our congratulations to Mrs. Strader!

2024 Dedicated Teacher Award Nominees:

  • Abby Wagner, Kamiak Elementary School
  • Jamie Bye, Jefferson Elementary School
  • Willma Fields, Sunnyside Elementary School
  • Jan Estep, Pullman High School