Pullman Public Schools Ensuring Learning While Challenging and Supporting Each Student to Achieve Full Potential

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
“Ensuring learning while challenging and supporting each student to achieve full potential”

Attendance Law

Attendance Law (Becca's Law) 
Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction 
Olympia, Washington

OVERVIEW:
Washington State's "Becca" Truancy Regulations & Policies 

In brief, Becca truancy laws require schools to:

  • Inform parents in writing or by phone after one unexcused absence in one month
  • Schedule a parent conference after two unexcused absences in one month
  • Enter into a formal agreement with the student and parent regarding attendance; or, referral to a Community Truancy Board; or, file a truancy petition, if a student has five unexcused absences in a month
  • File a truancy petition with the juvenile court if a student has seven unexcused absences in a month, or ten unexcused absences in a year
  • File a contempt motion if a student is not in compliance with a court order resulting from a truancy petition


Becca truancy laws also require the juvenile court to:

  • Process petitions filed by school districts
  • Schedule hearings alleging truancy, and notify parents and student of the hearing, their options and rights, and may require their attendance
  • Grant petitions and assume jurisdiction for any period of time deemed necessary if the facts (by a preponderance of evidence) support the petition
  • The court may order attendance at current school, alternative school, another public school, a skill center, drop-out prevention program, a private school or education center, referral to a Community Truancy Board, or completion of a drug assessment test
  • Schedule hearings alleging non-compliance with court orders, requiring access to legal representation for the student. Parents may also request legal representation
  • The court may order a student to report to county detention, impose alternatives to detention, or order parents to perform community service or pay a fine of up to $25 per day for each unexcused absence, if the court rules that a student or parent violated the court order

 

Attendance Policy
Students are expected to attend school 180 days of the year unless they have an excused absence from a parent or guardian.

Absences due to illness or a health condition; a religious observance, when requested by a student’s parent(s); school-approved activities; family emergencies; and, as required by law, disciplinary actions or short-term suspension will be excused.

The parent or school authority responsible for the absence will verify an unexcused absence. A student can be suspended or expelled for habitual truancy or unexcused absences. For further reference contact your building principal for a copy of Board Policy 3122, Excused and Unexcused Absence.